11:17 p.m. | 2003-08-23

I Struck Out Twice Today.

As you know, or maybe not, I need to find a new place for Saturday brunch with MyDad since the place I was going to closed. And, honestly, I haven�t invested much thought in finding a new place as I was expecting MyDad to �divine� a new place. You know, since he�s deceased and all.

And, today he did give me a clue, however, as I was out all night long and slept in far too late, I winged it. That didn�t work out too well. The food was good, the service was excellent and the price was quite modest, but still� it just wasn�t the right place.

However, it was right next door to my favorite European Antique Store. That was but one clue that the place wasn�t right. See, that�s all about me, and not about Saturday brunch with MyDad. Albeit, he�d love the antique store.

Anyway, I ate and went next door to see if they had any of these left:

24 arrest cards from the turn of the century - all unique and fascinating. Each one has two photos of the criminal, their description and their crime. Crimes such as murder, prostitution, forgery and "hugging a woman on the street"... $10 each.

Alas, I was too late in taking them up on that offer. Since I�m talking about my favorite European Antique Store, I just have to share this snippet from a recent newsletter.

I apologize to the customer I met during the week as I was walking outside. I outstretched my arm to push open the door but was looking backwards. She opened the door at the same moment. My hand met a part of her body that only her husband and her doctor should be investigating. A thousand apologies�

Those Brits. They just crack me up.


Anyway, I came home feeling a little defeated, so I set about trying to decipher the clue MyDad gave me in regards to a new place. Scoff at me if you feel that�s necessary. That�s cool� to each his own.

First, I looked through two area restaurant guides to no avail. As MyDad�s clue was a name � as in a regular guy�s name, not a restaurant name � I pulled out the local white pages just to see if I could find anything.

I did. And, actually, it was a place I�d considered but it doesn�t quite fit our profile and the name is wrong except it�s right on. Let me explain. To locals, it�s known by one name, but officially, it has a full name and the first name is exactly what MyDad told me.

I�ll have to check that out next week and see if it works for us. Ironically, next Saturday is my birthday.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003