10:26 p.m. | 2003-08-24

The Story Of Two Bitches, Uh, I Mean Sisters.

Previously, Dearest Sister hounded me for pictures of my Dreamspace so I took some interior pictures, featuring unpacked boxes even, and sent them off. Of course, then I had to call her to tell her to check her mail.

She called me after she received them. This is that.

(DS:) Oh, I love the pictures of your �Eloise� apartment!

(CI:) I�m not so good taking pictures with a �point and shoot�, but can you at least get a sense of the place?

(DS:) Yeah! It�s so cool. I love all the stuff you wrote on the back of them.

(CI:) I thought it�d help you figure out what you�re looking at.

(DS:) It did. It did. You really need to send me pictures of the outside of the Eloise Apartment. You know, the front porch, the garden� all that stuff. I want to see that stuff now.

(CI:) Funny you should mention that because I did pick up new roll of film and have already snapped some photos. However, I need to wait until a weekend to do the other outside stuff.

(DS:) How come?

(CI:) Well, because I think the other folks that live or work here might think it odd that I�m snapping photos of the building. See, they don�t know that�s common behavior in our family� you know, taking pictures of where we live and whatnot because our own family members might not ever see that stuff otherwise. Family quirks and all that.


Hence, I went to ThePark (aka, MyFrontYard) in order to take a picture of the outside of TheHotel. Once I got to the park though, my picture taking spiraled into something else. First, I had to take a picture of the walkway I traverse every workday, however, in doing that, other things crept into the photos. Like MyOtherWorkPlace. Well, the backside of that. Once I took a photo of the backside, I couldn�t help but take a photo of the front side. Then, I was taking photos of my favorite spots and whatnot.

I got a lot of exercise to say the least. As I was reaching the end of my film, I shot my last photo and was heading back to my Dreamspace. Then, this happened.

(Lady:) Cruel-Irony?

(CI:) Yes?

(Lady:) It�s me. (Someone who used to work at MyWorkPlace.) How are you?

(CI:) Oh, hi. Sorry, I didn�t recognize you. You changed your hair color, and well, I was lost in thought. I�m fine. How are you?

She was visiting ThePark to walk her rather large dog. We got consumed in conversation while we continued walking. Let me just say that I got quite a workout today. You know, if you consider walking exercise � which I do.

Damn, I forgot that the other thing on my birthday list was a pedometer. I need to get one of those because I think I�ve been walking some miles lately.


Anyway, when I got home, there was a message from Dearest Sister so I gave her a call back. Here�s that.

(DS:) Hey there. How ya doing?

(CI:) Well, fine except for it�s THAT time, you know?

(DS:) No, I don�t know. What time is THAT?

(CI:) Obviously, you know that OurDad died nine months ago today.

(DS:) Yeah, and?

(CI:) Well, anytime around the 24th of each month is hard for me. It�s just that week. That�s when I act, um, out of sorts. Okay, look, I�m just a flat-out BITCH during that time frame.

(DS:) Really? (Huge sigh of relief.) I�ve so totally been a bitch lately. Like out of control. I�ve been acting so� irrational and shit. I even went to a Conflict Management class because I thought I had a really serious problem. You experience that shit too?

(CI:) Oh yeah. Since I track so many things, I started tracking that right off the bat. And, sure as shit, every month around the 24th, I just become an irrational bitch. In fact, Boss should have fired me, written me up or at least reprimanded last Friday for my behavior. I was completely out of line. However, we�ve both had 4 family members die within 6 months, so she understands all that. We both have one that takes precedence over the others and their death dates are the 24th for me and the 26th for Boss. So, she�ll be going through the same thing this week.

(DS:) God, I thought I was going insane. Now that you mention it, that�s what�s happening. It always centers around the 24th. I turn into an irrational bitch. I thought it was just me.

(CI:) It�s not. And, you know, I really hate it because it�s so irrational. I want to apologize even as I�m acting out, but I don�t because it�d be so insincere because I feel so righteous in my bitchiness. At the time anyway. Later� well, frankly, I�m embarrassed by my behavior.

(DS:) Exactly! So what do YOU do about it?

(CI:) Well, the date � the 24th � is fluid; it falls on a different day every month, so sometimes it falls on the weekend and sometimes in the middle of the workweek. Mostly, I isolate as much as I can. If I have to be amongst people, I try to keep my mouth shut. But, really, I have to say that knowing that you�re gonna act up goes a long way to keeping it mellow. Well, except for Friday. I was really out of line then. That happens sometimes, I apologize when I can mean it, and I move on. I�m expecting that the bitchiness factor will lesson some over the years.

(DS:) I sure hope so.

(CI:) To change the subject, I take it StepMom is back from her travels to Australia and New Zealand as I received a birthday/housewarming card and gift from her yesterday.

(DS:) Yeah, she�s back in town. In fact, we have an appointment later this week to swap photos. I told her I had pictures of your Eloise Apartment � good photos with great commentary. I even flashed the back of one of your photos to show her the writing. She wanted to see them right then, but I told her that they�d be no swapping until she has her holiday pictures developed.

(CI:) Whoa. Wait a minute. It�s okay for you to see those photos of my place, but they�re not the official photos. Well, okay, you can show StepMom, but really, I�m not thrilled with the fact that I have unpacked boxes everywhere and no art up or anything.

(DS:) That�s okay; I�ll tell her this is what it looked like right after you moved in.

(CI:) Okay, cool.

Dearest Sister and I had more to talk about and we rang off later. Then I realized that I wrote the date on every single one of those pictures. So much for my �just moved in� excuse. Gah.

I also promised Dearest Sister that I�d hunt down some obscure reference in one of my beloved history boxes, so I�ve off to do just that.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003