1:40 a.m. | 2003-11-27

There It Is And Happy Thanksgiving!

Just yesterday, someone told me that they didn�t know what to say to me because they�ve never known anyone who has lost six family members in one year. I reassured them that that�s okay. Hell, even I don�t know what to say to me anymore.

But you guys are amazing. Thanks to all of you who�ve left comments and to all of you that haven�t because you didn�t know what to say. Personally, I deal with this dilemma also with my fellow family members. What to say? What to say?

But, I�ll take a lesson from puter-chique who said that I should get some bonus points for this little round in the game of life. I like her idea that I could swap such points in for things such as a decoder ring, or even a mood ring. See, now that would be great. And, Puter? Both decoder and mood rings are still cool. At least in my book. However, I might remind you that I am a product of the �60s.

I�ll also take a lesson from lagrimitas who, in addition to being empathetic, was happy to see that, notwithstanding the difficult circumstances, I�m not about to turn my back on my arch-nemesis. That would definitely be a shortsighted move on my part. I�d find a knife in my back for sure. I probably shouldn�t be making morbid jokes, but it�s my nature. Besides, I�m having a lot of fun stocking my arsenal. Some things in life merit that extra bit of effort.

Finally, I�ll take a lesson from muppetathena who suggested that we pool our resources and buy �Death a nice tropical getaway�. I wrote a letter to Mr. Reaper in August suggesting that he might enjoy a vacation on the beach, but maybe I need to be more proactive in that regard. Perhaps I should send him a ticket. Does Mr. Reaper reside in Heaven or in Hell? Or, is he a free agent? Hmmm.

Anyway, thanks to all of you for your support. It really does mean a lot to me. And, if you�re ever in a situation where you�re at a loss for words, you can always say: �There it is.� Trust me. It works.


So, Happy Thanksgiving!

I�m cooking a turkey and all the fixings tomorrow. I�ve gone too many years without the traditional meal, and more importantly, without the leftovers.

Many years ago, we all decided to go our own ways for Thanksgiving. Mostly because people married and had other families and stuff. In years past, I�ve been invited to join my friends for the feast, but now, everyone is pretty much going their own way too. In other words, I�m on my own this year.

I�ve spent quite a few holidays on my own, so that�s not such a big deal. However, I usually don�t do all the traditional cooking since it�s just me. But, I just can�t go another Thanksgiving without turkey, the fixings and the leftovers.

Strangely, it�ll be the first time I�ve ever cooked a turkey. The cool thing about being alone is that it�s okay if I fuck everything up. Plus, honestly, I�m really not that great of company right now, so it�s probably good that it�ll just be me.


Lately, I haven�t felt like smiling and saying I�m feeling fine when I�m not. Don�t get me wrong though. I do having my moments of smiling, laughing and having fun� it�s just kind of sporadic right now, so I�m not real good at performing on cue. So to speak.

And, good lord, no one wants to talk about all these deaths. Least of all me. I feel like I�m dragging around skeletons or something. I think I need some time alone.


To me, Thanksgiving is about being grateful. And, I am grateful for many, many things. Actually, I�m grateful pretty much everyday. But, I don�t mind setting aside one day to really focus on what I do have, what I don�t have and everything in between.

Overall, I�d say my life is pretty dang good.

There it is.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003