11:03 a.m. | 2003-12-16

Just Send Me A Letter.

I came home from work and checked my mail. I found a Christmas card from one of my very best friends nestled amongst a package from Hyde.

I have to say that Hyde tends to cling to the �old ways� much like I do. To wit, he sent me a nine-page, handwritten letter. This one, I received. He also sent a couple of random photos and a CD of some of his band�s songs. (He was in a band for more than 15 years. I�m only counting adult years � not the teenager buffoonery years. Although, that band was good too.)

It�s a mix that takes me right back into the day.

The last time that we spoke, we reminisced. Of course. Because we�re old and whatnot. Anyway, he had forgotten a lot of people and names. I provided some, but after our first talk, I remembered another. Mind you, I can�t remember what happened yesterday, but I can pull names and faces from my past out of thin air. Or my ass. You choose.

What pray tell, am I gonna do when I�m 80?

So, I asked him about a particular person. This is that.

(CI:) I have another name for you.

(Hyde:) Okay, go ahead.

(CI:) ThisGuy.

(H:) I don�t remember him at all.

(CI:) You know, he lived in this town, did this and that, and such.

(H:) Nope. Nothing.

(CI:) Alright. I know you�ll remember this. Remember when he �crashed� your band and sang It�s My Party And I�ll Cry If I Want To?

(H:) Yeah. Yeah, I do remember him now. What was that all about?

(CI:) See, I knew you�d remember that. I mean, who could forget it? Anyway, that was at a cast party � remember when you guys played there? However, he booked that gig so you guys had to play his music.

(H:) I do remember him. Heh.

I remember how every single member of the band tried to act like they had no part in that musical selection. Nowadays, they would�ve just collectively rolled their eyes whenever he got up to sing.

After all, they were a ROCK and ROLL band. Not an oldies band. And, I knew Hyde would remember it for that reason alone.


Oh, and Leebo? Don�t even think that I forgot about you. You handsome, studly arch-nemesis. Uh, I mean, you rotten, little bastard.

Anyway, I was sharpening my dental floss on my boomerang the other day, which isn�t as easy as it sounds, when I had a brainstorm in regards to my arsenal. Hence, I�ve added a map of the U.S.A. and a packet of pushpins.

When I, very carefully, stabbed a red-colored pushpin into College Station, I think I heard a little yelp.

But, then again, that could�ve been my refrigerator. It often makes a little squealing noise.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003