4:37 p.m. | 2003-12-31

The Year Of 2003. Buh-Bye.

Obviously, I stole this. Thanks Girls Don�t Cry.

1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before?

Spread my father�s ashes. Moved Downtown � I�ve never been an urban dweller before. Attended several VIP (very important people) invitation-only parties.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don�t think I made any resolutions last year, but I think I will for this New Year.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

No. No one near to me, or dear to me, gave birth this year.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Why yes. Of course. Actually, I think 2003 was sponsored by Mr. Reaper himself. But fortunately, no one did so near me.

5. What countries did you visit?

Texas. Ha. Ha. Okay, okay. I�ll be serious. None.

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?

Peace of mind, stability and dignity (hee).

7. What date from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

July 3rd because that�s when I moved into my dreamspace. November 24th because it was the first anniversary of my father�s death. October 7th and December 31st because� well, just because I will.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Not having a nervous breakdown.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Unpacking. (I moved six months ago and still have quite a bit to unpack.)

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Outside of the fibromyalgia, I didn�t suffer from any illnesses, although there might have been a mental illness or two somewhere along the line. Injuries? Nothing serious � just the usual every day injuries. Wait, I still have a bump on my head from when I fell down the stairs several months ago. Lets just hope that�s not serious, okay?

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Love. Ha! Surely, I jest. Massage sessions and, of course, plane tickets to Texas. (JournalCon, woohoo!) Oh, and the various donations I made throughout the year to particular organizations and people.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

StepMom�s.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

I don�t have a ten-foot pole and I�m not touching this question without one. And, even then I�m not so sure if I would.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Housing, law school student loan, savings and, of course, taxes.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Moving into my dreamspace, JournalCon, and reconnecting with Hyde (former high school classmate).

16. What song will always remind you of 2003?

Why Can�t We Be Friends? by (ironically) War. Not that it�s a song from 2003, just that there was too much strife in 2003. Locally, nationally and internationally. I mean, really. Can�t we all just get along?

17. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?

Both.

18. Thinner or fatter?

Neither, I weigh about the same. Although I have more muscles now. Yay.

Richer or poorer?

Definitely richer. And, better off financially too.

What do you wish you'd done more of?

Relaxing.

What do you wish you'd done less of?

Worrying/Bitching about stuff that, in the long run, isn�t really important.

22. How did you spend Christmas?

Oddly, with some family members. Went to YoungerSister�s house and spent most of my time sword fighting with LittleNephew.

23. Did you fall in love in 2003?

Well, I fell in love with the Fab Five but that doesn�t really count I suppose. So, well, no I didn�t.

24. How many one-night stands?

None.

25. What was your favourite TV programme?

Tough question. Could be Trading Spaces or Law & Order Criminal Intent or Queer Eye for the Straight Guy, but I�m going to say 8 Simple Rules because of the honorable and intelligent way they handled John Ritter�s death and the creative direction they took the show. That was classy.

26. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

Hate? Uh, no. Strongly dislike? Absolutely. In fact, about five people came to my mind immediately. But, I�ve probably forgotten at least five people I disliked last year � or became friends with them � so I�m probably even. One of the best ways to stop disliking someone is to become their friend. But, you know, there are some people where that�s just not a smart thing to do.

27. What was the best book you read?

Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser.

28. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Azucar by Guido Luciani.

29. What did you want and get?

My dreamspace and the ability to walk to work.

30. What did you want and not get?

My way.

31. What was your favourite film of this year?

I only went to two movies this year and I wouldn�t declare either my favourite. Or even favorite.

32. What did you do on your birthday?

I slept in and then went to brunch. I went shopping for some things for my dreamspace. I went to OldTown, visited Spin and checked out an annual event. Then, I went home and had mimosas.

33. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Someone to share it with. I mean, besides you guys. Not that I don�t like you guys or anything. I think you know what I mean.

34. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003?

Out with the old and in with the new. We�re talking really old versus brand spanking new. You fashion police out there? Yeah, you can stop laughing at me now. I updated okay?

35. What kept you sane?

DearestSister. My friends. My diary. Medication (for the fibro). My faith and belief that it�ll all work out in the end. The ocean. Hope.

36. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I don�t know if �fancy� would be the correct term, but I love Jack Nickolson � he does crazy so damn good. Runners up include Christopher Walken and Nicholas Cage. I love people who act wacky.

37. Who did you miss?

MyDad, BestestGirlfriend (she�s in law school which means I rarely see her), DearestSister, GuyFriend, Frank and Chuck, my birds.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

Glenn. Well, and these people, of course.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003.

When you don�t know what to do, doing something is better than doing nothing at all. Even if that something is stupid.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

�Hello darkness my old friend, I�ve come to talk with you again.� Sound of Silence, Simon and Garfunkel.


I wish you all a very Happy New Year�s and I hope all your wishes and dreams come true.

Cheers.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003