| 2004-01-06

Sometimes, When Opportunity Knocks On The Door, It�s Best Just To Climb Out The Back Window.

Dear Brittany,

You will never, ever live that one down, Girl. Never. Ever.

Honestly,

Cruel-Irony


Now, I know that I�ve done some foolish things in the past, and there�s not much preventing me from doing more idiotic things in the future, but well, I�ve never actually gotten totally hammered and married someone.

That�s presuming she was hammered.

Nor have I done such a silly thing sober. Not that I believe marriage is silly � quite the contrary, actually � just that I believe that particular one was. As does Brittany. Again, presumably. You know, since she annulled it and all.

Thanks to that situation though, I�ve added a new �mull-it-over-first-before-getting-married� question to my list. Like such.

�Hmmm, will I still want to be married to him a few hours from now?�

In fact, I might put that one at the top of the list. It sounds like a good place to start. And, honestly, I�m not trying to Brittany-bash here. Rather, that whole thing just caught me off-guard. And, where-oh-where were the reality TV folks when that happened?

Seriously though, don�t try that at home folks, okay?


On a related note, I�ve only personally known one couple that actually had their marriage annulled. I imagine it�s easier nowadays, but a while back, if you were devout in any way and married by the church, it was trickier.

Much like divorce used to be, you had to have a particular reason that fell within one of the few �appropriate� reasons. One of those reasons was the �lack of consummation� of the marriage. Which was applicable to the person I knew. After a year of being betrothed.

See now, if you want to practice abstinence until marriage, that�s great. However, if there�s no consummation during the honeymoon, well then, there were probably some questions that weren�t asked and answered. By the same token, if you weren�t abstinent prior to the marriage and there�s no action following the exchanging of �I Do�s�, well then, maybe �you don�t�.

But, then again, what the hell do I know about any of the above? As I�m not even married, let just put forth these suggestions as they were told to me by Frankie the Cat. It�s always good to consult the experts.


Lets talk about something else, okay? Okay.

I�d forgotten how much fun it is to have muscles. See, when I was younger, I was a gymnast and actually had some pretty great muscles. For the most part, I pretty much kept them until the whole fibromyalgia thing happened several years ago.

Then, I lost all my muscles and I became a scrawny weakling. Really, I did. It was painful to lift a stapler, much less staple something together. It was bad. And, the fewer the muscles, the more the spasms and the pain. It was ridiculous.

Anyway, since I moved in July, I�ve been rebuilding my muscles. I don�t exercise per se, but I do take advantage of opportunities to take a walk, climb stairs, carry things, etc. Much to my surprise, I�ve actually built up some pretty good muscles.

And, I�m back to my old tricks, so to speak. See, I went out with a [male] friend of mine (FOM) and we spent some time together, catching up and whatnot. To wit.

(CI:) Oh, and I�ve gained some muscles. See, hold out your arm.

(FOM:) Hee, hee. Oh, you do have some muscles. That�s great. You even have definition. Cool. Wait. Yow. Stop, you�re hurting me. Yow. Jesus. Stop.

(CI:) Pretty cool, huh?

(FOM:) (Shaking it off.) Damn, those are some muscles.

I tell ya, it�s been ages since I�ve pulled that �party trick� outta my hat, and I have to say that I always enjoy it even though it�s really kinda obnoxious.


Quote of the Day.

�You are so not picky. You are the least picky person I know. You�re not picky about anything.� (FOM to me. I mean, to me.)

Try playing that one with a straight face.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003