11:13p.m. | 2004-01-9

From Plant Deficits To Girl�s Night Out.

When NewBoss came to work today, I threw a plant in with my morning greeting as I still had two plants that needed temporary homes. He was willing to house it and seemed pleased.

Later on, several of my New Colleagues expressed how much they like having plants in the office. I still had one homeless one so I offered it up. It was snatched away quickly. The others appeared disappointed that they didn�t receive one and went on to tell me how much they like having plants around.

I ended up promising them �babies� from one of my spider plants. They�re a little dismayed that they have to wait a little bit for them to root out, but seemed appeased.

Frankly, I�m shocked. The NewDivision is predominately male. There are three women in our area, including myself. One of them put dibs on a plant very soon after I arrived, and she has that one on her desk. The other woman is an intern who works part-time and has been absent during all the plant give-a-ways.

So, these are men who are fighting over my plants. They�re even in baskets. Men are actually fighting over temporary possession of greenery housed in wicker.

It�s a mystery to me, but I�ll plant them out for �em. All of them are huge water-drinkers too, which is unusual to me. But, they�re youngsters, so maybe I�m just out of touch.

Well, there�s probably no �maybe� in that equation.


Yeah, no �maybe�. Case in point, last night Colleague and I worked late and hadn�t yet received access to the building for the next day. So, NewBoss told us to come to work and just call him when we got to the door so he could let us into the building. Colleague and I both agreed � whole-heartedly even � to that plan.

It wasn�t until I arrived there this morning that I realized that I couldn�t call him because I don�t have a cell phone. I read the newspaper until someone arrived and let me in. And, I�m cool with that. However, I don�t think NewBoss appreciates those moments of quiet respite quite the way I do. (Just as a note, someone else let me in because I got there early.)

NewBoss is very cool and all that, but he did mention that I might want to step an inch or two into the new century. I didn�t have the heart to tell him that I was quite happy with my quiet moments.

I�m seeing a cell phone in my future. That I am. But, you know, I�ll hold out on that as long as I can. Surely, you know that.


I worked late again, which is not a new thing, but I had plans to meet up with BestestGirlfriend, so things were a little frantic at the late end of the day.

But, we did meet up and went to dinner at a new place. It was busy, so we headed to the bar for a bit. Since BG was buying the drinks, she went up to order them.

Just in case you forgot, or didn�t know, BG is about 13 years younger than me, so she took her ID with her. This is where it got a little interesting. Well, to me anyway.

I noticed that the bartender noticed her right away. However, he was filling other drink orders. When he got to her though, he asked for her ID. Then, this happened.

(Bartender:) Oh my god, you�re a model! (Showing her ID to everyone at the bar.) Look! She�s a model! Look at her picture! (Looking at it again.) Oh, and she�s a Gemini too! Whoa, we have a Gemini model here� check this out!

BG is very attractive, but she�s also quite modest. And, she�s a law student, not a model. I could feel her embarrassment from several feet away.

We were seated soon after that incident. However, a short time later, the bartender actually came over to our table, sat next to me, introduced himself and asked us to come back to the bar after dinner.

I thought he was hitting on BG and BG thought he was hitting on me. Since we didn�t know, we chalked it up to great customer service, tipped him well, and skipped out on the after dinner visit.


Other than all that, it was just a normal day.


Oh, but I do want to thank everyone who has sent a comment, note or signed the book. I�m behind in my reading and in my responding � which I will be for a while � but I�ll catch up and I really do appreciate all your kind words. That I do.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003