11:01 a.m. | 2004-01-10

Rude Awakenings.

I awoke this morning to someone banging on my door. Dazed and confused, I threw on my robe � since I sleep in nature�s pajamas � proceeded to the door and asked who was there.

Now, I do have a peephole, but it�s way taller than I am, so I resorted to �safety first� measures. Or something.

It was the plumber. I really can�t fain ignorance here since I had received a notice that the plumber would be doing some work around TheHotel. However, the notice indicated that I should expect such over a ten-day period. Today was the last day. I had just presumed that since I�m gone for many hours five days a week, they�d take that into consideration and do whatever needed to be done while I was gone.

Color me silly.


Frankly, I couldn�t identify the plumber if someone offered me a million bucks. It�s all kind of hazy. If you know me, you know that I hate to be awakened. And, I�m really not all that pleasant if you are prone to such antics.

Lets just say that I wasn�t particularly sociable when I opened my front door, wearing only my robe, to discover the Plumber and the HotelManager. Here�s what happened.

(CI:) Um. Hi?

(Plumber:) Sorry, Miss.

(HotelManager:) Uh, we�ll come back later.

(Plumber:) Yeah, that�s a good idea.

(CI:) Bye.

I crawled back in bed expecting to remain undisturbed while I finished out my sleeping. I was wrong. Well, not about going back to sleep � that was no problem. But, one hour later, there was banging on my door again. This is that.

(CI:) Did you turn off the water to the building? I mean, nice to see you again.

(HotelManager:) Yeah, we did.

(Plumber:) Maybe we should come back later.

(HotelManager:) Yeah, maybe we should do this unit last.

(Plumber:) I think that�s a good idea. Sorry to bother you Miss.

(CI:) Thanks. Bye.

I again crawled back into bed. And, slept for a couple of more hours.


I wasn�t really thrilled with HotelManager and Plumber seeing me first thing in the morning. However, that wasn�t nearly as disturbing to finally waking up with no water.

Yeah, I went to brunch with without taking a shower, without drinking any water and with only one pit stop.

And, I came home a couple of hours later with the same situation. Well, except I was planning on doing laundry at that point.


Everything�s cool now though. My laundry is all done, as are the dirty dishes. But, I never did get my shower in. Oddly, I discovered that there�s a particular point in the day, after I�ve already been out in the public, where showering seems to be futile.

That�d be a different story if I had stepped out tonight, but I didn�t. Of course.

Because I hadn�t showered and I�d planned on doing the laundry and whatnot during the day.


I did get a reassurance that I won�t be disturbed tomorrow. That�s great because, outside of catching up on my sleep, I don�t think I�ll have time to do much else.

Well, outside of taking a shower.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003