11:25 p.m. | 2004-01-26

It Hasn�t Even Been Three Weeks And My Insubordinate Smart-Ass Tendencies Are Already Surfacing.

I walked down the hall to speak with one of my new colleagues, Nick, this afternoon. That�s not his name, of course, but that happens to my name for him in my head. Some people just seem to be misnamed, but that�s another subject.

Anyway, as I walked past NewBoss� office on my way back, this happened.

(NB:) (Note that he had InternOne in his office.) Hey, Cruel-Irony?

(CI:) Yes?

(NB:) What do you call this stuff? You know, what�s the term for it?

(CI:) Uh, yeah, there is a term� what about this, that or the other thing?

(NB:) No, no, no. THE TERM. You remember right? We talked about this last week.

(CI:) (Blank stare.)

(NB:) Come on, Cruel-Irony. We just talked about this. You know what I�m talking about.

(CI:) Yes, I do know what you�re talking about. And, yes, there is a term for that. However, you and I did not discuss it together. Ever. So, well, I can�t answer your question.

(NB:) I believe that we did have that conversation and that you do know.

(CI:) Well, I believe that you �believe� a lot of things. In fact, I�m quite sure that many things happen in your mind that haven�t actually happened in real life. This would be one of those things. (Walking away.)

(NB:) (Laughing heartily.) I can�t believe you said that.

(CI:) (Walking back.) Well, I can.


In fact, I think he actually enjoyed that exchange. Apparently, I�m the first person that�s just �mouthed off� to him. And really, that just slipped out. But, it wouldn�t have had I thought that he wouldn�t take it well.

He seemed to �brighten� actually. I think we might actually be mutual muses.

However, I was right. Not that I really care about being right. It�s just that, since I have memory problems, I�ve learned how to know when someone�s trying to pull a fast one on me (not in this case), or someone�s mistaken (this case).

NewBoss had discussed this issue, and term, with Colleague and not with me. And, I know that it can be really easy to confuse Colleague and I. I mean, he�s, well male, 6�2�, over 200 pounds and has gray hair, and I�m female, almost 5�0�, around 100 pounds and have brownish/blonde hair. It�s easy to see why he�d confuse us.

On NewBoss� behalf, I will say that, given the subject matter, he�d either discussed it with Colleague or I. And, considering the number of conversations he�s had with both of us, with Colleague and with myself, I can see how he would think he discussed it with me. But, alas, he didn�t.

I think I made that clear, actually.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003