11:00 p.m. | 2004-02-12

Uh. Okay. Whatever.

Apparently, there�s a new addition to my Surprise of Men. Mind you, I don�t have time for all that right now, yet it�s multiplying.

There are some within my Surprise of Men that cause me to pause. Out of concern. That would be the part that�s multiplying. Of course. And, I have to say, that the Surprise of Men is already a �surprise� so I don�t really know where to go with all that. But, I do know where I�m not going.

The latest addition? Not going there. First off, we currently work in the same building. However, that�s supposed to change soon. So, officially? That�d be fine. At some later point.

Oh, and he�s attractive and smart. I think I failed to mention that.

But� he�s a VIP in a way. If I told you who he was, you�d gasp and recognize the significance but wouldn�t recognize him. Or, maybe you would. I sometimes get lazy when it comes to the news. Especially, the TV news.

See, he�s probably been on the TV and I�m just ignorant about that fact. That�s very likely. And, that�d also be the reason that I try to avoid him every day. I try to stay out of the limelight and I�m not about all the power-grabbing thing.

Just trying to do my job. That�s all.

I ended up in the hallway talking to him though. I�ll call him VIP for lack of a better moniker. It went like this.

(VIP:) So, what�d you have planned for this weekend. Anything exciting?

(CI:) (Trying to squelch all this.) Uh� well, nothing exciting. I plan on catching up on my sleep and taking care of chores. What do you have planned?

(VIP:) Not a lot. What are you doing here? I mean, how is the workload divided up and who works on This or That?

(CI:) Well, Colleague and I still do the same thing, and we�ve never dealt with This or That. I think that�s handled somewhere else. The rest of the analysts? They deal with This Other Thing.

(VIP:) Really? That�s interesting.


I tell you right now that he�s really not interested in all that. Not that I�m HotChickCity of the US of A or anything, but I do recognize overt flirting. Most of it is contained within body language. And, some is verbal.

He�s working it and I�m hoping he�ll be moved soon. It�s scheduled and all. The move, I mean.

No offense intended, but I�d never go out with him. It�d just be too newsworthy at some point. Well, and there is cause for concern. I think I know more than he thinks I know.


See, a Surprise of Men may sound really great, but it can be troublesome.

Had you told me five years ago that VIPs would be hitting on me� well, I would�ve had you committed. Or, at least, I would have tried.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003