12:46 a.m. | 2004-02-29

I�m On The Road Again.

I moved into another office. This is my third move in two months, lest you weren�t keeping track. I care not. And, I�m quite happy, actually, that I haven�t unpacked any of my boxes. Good thing, since I might be moving again in a few weeks.

At some point, it�d be nice to be settled. But, I�m a patient person. And, well, I know how to move boxes.


In other news, we had our usual weekly meeting at work. It got heated. Some people had a lot to say. But, not me.

See, I knew this meeting was gonna get ugly, so to speak, to I sat on the other side of the table. The one that faces outside. And, I promptly set about to study a treetop. However, at one point, I realized that the treetop I was studying was right above OMC�s head. Hence, it looked like I was staring at him.

As such, I made it a point to avert my gaze and look down occasionally. Apparently, I missed several priceless facial expressions.

The �hot topic� was debated pretty much all day. A dead horse was beaten, revived and beaten again.

Frankly, I�m too old and tired for that kind of bullshit.

Sort of.

See, OMC and I continued the debate in our office, right before our move. Here�s that.

(CI:) Hey, remember that horse we beat to DEATH? Well, I pulled him up last night and beat him again. To the point of glue.

(OMC:) Heh. That�s funny.

(CI:) Well, that�s all metaphoric. And, I�m thinking we � you and I � could make a deal somewhere amongst all this blood of a severely abused horse. Sorry, that was probably too graphic.

(OMC:) What�d you have in mind?

So we made our deals and whatnot. Who knows what�ll happen.


Later, OMC and I asked Colleague to come visit us to discuss an issue. And, well, Colleague came over. He sat in my guest chair, which is in the back of our former narrow office. Then, OMC stood between my space and his space. It�s hard to explain, but it looked like the big, tall, manly men had me trapped in the corner. Here�s what actually happened.

(CI:) I didn�t see all the interesting facial expressions you guys saw at the meeting because I was looking at the treetop above OMC�s head. You know, I really like that tree. However, I suddenly realized that it probably looked like I was staring at OMC which wouldn�t be cool. Not that he�s not stare-worthy, just�

(OMC:) You know, trees really make me look�

(NewBoss:) What is going on here?! What�s with the huddle? Look, you have CI trapped in the corner and everything.

(OMC:) We�re talking about how sexy I look amongst the treetops.

(NewBoss:) What?! CI, are you okay? Are they harassing you?

(CI:) No. Actually, I brought it up. Well, not the �sexy� part of it. Just the treetop part.

(C:) That�s so funny because we were really talking about that. OMC and the tree, I mean.

We were really wheeling and dealing, however we were actually talking about OMC and the treetops and my staring and whatnot when NewBoss walked in. Sometimes, my endless chatter is beneficial.


It was a busy week. At some point, this happened.

(NewBoss:) So, what�d ya think about this person (X)?

(C:) Well, X is young�

(NB:) Yeah, X is. CI, what was that all about?

(CI:) What?

(NB:) When I mentioned X, about 50 expressions crossed your face. What�d you think?

(CI:) Uh. X is�

(NB:) What?! Tell me.

(CI:) Offensive. You know, if you�re easily offended and whatnot.

(NB:) Has X offended you?

(CI:) Of course, but then again, X offends everyone. So, I didn�t take it personally.

(NB:) What�d X say to you.

(CI:) Um� give me a second. Oh, X said this.

(NB:) That�s horrible! Why didn�t you tell me?

(CI:) Because I forgot about it. Really, I don�t hear anything X has to say because I consider the source. And, frankly, the source is immature and lacks tact. Trust me, I�ve been told worse things. But, I did consider telling you because X is a loose cannon, however, I realized that you already knew that, as X is quite candid about his thoughts. Trust me, I�d tell you if it was really BAD.

(NB:) No, I don�t think you would, actually. I think you�d just handle it � on the spot. And, we�d all see a little Darwin theory in action.

(CI:) Well, you might just be right about that.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003