11:14 p.m. | 2004-03-01

They Can Leap Over Me, Of Course. But Can They Leap � Or Step Over � Tall Buildings?

I mentioned that I�ve been moved once again. As was OfficeMateColleague (OMC). We�re now sharing a new space with an AdditionalOfficeMate (AOM).

Funny thing that.

See, NewBoss had told everyone that he�d hired someone new, and he mentioned that she was tall. Since, he mentioned height, I gave him some crap about it, but he assured me that she was tall-ish. Oh, and by the way, that�s pretty much all NewBoss said � that she was �tall-ish�.

Knowing that, and moving once again, I relinquished a ton of floor space to the �tall people�. Figuring that she was tall-ish, or well, over eight years old, she�d need more space than I did.

Good move one my part. NewBoss didn�t tell me that tall-ish really meant 6�4�.

Even NewBoss was surprised by that. This is that.

(CI:) I have some bones to pick with you.

(NB:) I know, I know. I stuck you with all the tall people. Sorry. She didn�t seem that tall the last time I spoke to her.

(CI:) Yeah, you did put me in giant city, however those aren�t the bones I want to pick with you.

(NB:) Are you really the shortest person in our Unit?

(CI:) Of course.

(NB:) Just to let you know, I totally trashed you today when you weren�t here to defend yourself.

(CI:) About my height?

(NB:) Yeah. Of course. Here�s what I said. (Bing, Blang, Blam, Whatever.) I mean, I didn�t know that UA was taller than you and that you�re under 5�0�.

(CI:) Oh please. How could you NOT know that? Hell, UA is 5�3� and I�m not even 5�� how could you not see that difference? I mean, EVERYONE sees that. Trust me. But, I don�t care about any of that. I came here because I want SUCH and SUCH, information. Because, I don�t know how to reach anyone and, consequentially, no one knows how to reach me. I just want a new phone list. That�s all.

(NB:) Hey you�re right. See, you didn�t remind me about that listing. Actually, you haven�t been reminding me about whatnot.

(CI:) Oh, I�m supposed to remind you? Really? And, what have I not reminded you about.

(NB:) You didn�t remind me about introducing the new person.

(CI:) Yes, I did.

(NB:) Yeah, you did. After the meeting.

(CI:) That was your call, and I reminded you promptly. Why don�t you just print out that listing for me?

(NB:) Done.

(CI:) Did you mean to cut off this number?

(NB:) No. I didn�t cut off any numbers. Where? What? I�ll check that. Hey� you�re right, I cut off that number. How�d you know?

(CI:) Because I�m brilliant. Notwithstanding my stupidity. See, I�ve learned a few things along the way. And, tell me again why I�m your personal reminder of all things outside of tall-ish. Cause, you know, she�s as tall as OMC and you didn�t even tell me about that. Much less remind me of that fact.

(NB:) I honestly didn�t realize she was that tall.

(CI:) And, you, honestly, didn�t remember that I was that short?

(NB:) I had no idea. But, yeah. You�re very short and they�re (OMC and NewGirl) very tall. Does it bother you� you know, that I put you amongst the �giants�?

(CI:) No. Not at all. Pretty much everyone is taller than me. At some point, it�s only a matter of degrees.


I have to say that I was less surprised than anyone else. I mean, come one, everyone�s pretty much taller than me.

But, she is tall, she shook up a lot of people, and I finally got the list I�ve been needing. Well, and I finally stepped on Colleague�s foot, for a change. I didn�t realize he was right behind me, because pizza was right in front of me, but I did step back and all.

That, in my mind, is one step forward, for� uh, a left-handed, short, female trying to, um, eat?

I�m not sure what that was, but more power to me. I�ll say that proudly actually. Yay for me stepping on people and eating. Yay.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003