11:02 p.m. | 2004-03-29

Large And In Charge. Okay, Maybe Not Large Or In Charge, But I Got Stuff Done. Huge Stuff And I Was The TaskMaster. Does That Count?

First off, a shout out to faux-pas for suggesting that I might have became ill from eating a mysterious potluck baked-good. I actually do think that�s what happened. It was the last bite I took that day, and I ate it to be polite. However, I was informed, by the baker, that they made this particular baked good around 2:00am while intoxicated.

Which is why I avoided it like the plague. Well, until it became a point of manners. See, manners� that�s a trouble spot for me. I�m polite to the point of, well, vomiting excessively, I guess.

Damn me.


But, on to other news. Lets start with Saturday brunch. My first foray into solid foods for several days.

Boston Boston. (Sigh.) What can I say? He�s there for me. And, he was particularly attentive this week. As I was entering the restaurant, he shot a beeline to the host area and, quite assertively, told me to follow him. (Honestly, he doesn�t even have to ask; I�d just follow him� short of stalking, of course. But, usually, whoever is seating people asks me where I want to sit. No complaints here though.)

Then, in an unprecedented move, Boston Boston immediately confirmed that I�d like an ice tea and a salad, with the dressing on the side. Two seconds later, there it was. I hadn�t even read a sentence of the paper yet. I kinda wanted to tell him to slow down a bit, but yeah� it�s Boston Boston.

Boston Boston was definitely a sight for sore, sickly, me.

I ordered and again, boom! My lunch appeared. I even ordered something I haven�t ordered for awhile. He�s like a god, really.

I�m not so god-like and I wasn�t sure how I was gonna do with solid food. I proceeded slowly, like I do. Everything was good. Sucked down four ice-teas within twenty minutes or so, yet Boston Boston was right there with the refills. When, I was finished, he brought me a box � without prompting from me � and gave me not one, but two tickets. That�s a first.

And, you know, I would�ve paid him twice but there�s no money tree in my backyard. In fact, there�s not even a backyard. Hence, no trees.

Boston Boston, you are GOLDEN! Rock on, good buddy. (That�s from the �60s, �70s, �80s or something. Not so much the �90s or �00s.) See, I can hang with ya. If�n you�re old or whatnot.


Then I ran a quick errand before coming home to plant a gazillion plants � provided by TheHotel � on the front porch. Okay, a �gazillion� plants is probably an exaggeration. I didn�t count �em though, so lets just say it was 2� hours worth. That�s a lot for a small container garden. On the porch.

Anyway, I was gardening away when I noticed two �army� men, circa 1800s, walking down the sidewalk. I grinned and carried on, as one is wont to do. However, this happened.

(ArmyMan1:) Good Day Miss.

(CI:) Good day.

(ArmyMan2:) The flowers sure brighten up the porch, Miss.

(CI:) Yeah, they do, don�t they?

(AM1:) I love this building.

(CI:) Me too. Hey, where are you guys coming from?

(AM1:) OldTown.

(AM2:) The whole �army� was there today.

(CI:) Da�Dang! What�d I miss? (It�s hard to curse in front of anyone dressed in circa 1800 army garb. Not that there wasn�t a lot of cussing going on back then. I don�t know� you try it. It�s the uniform or something.)

(AM1:) Today is Women�s History Day! (All puffed up, righteously.)

(CI:) Where is my mind? I mean, how could I miss THAT?! (Honestly, I need to read past the front page of paper. STAT.)

(AM2:) It�s Women�s History Month also, so we�ll be back down to OldTown soon.

(CI:) Oh, I love this stuff. (You know me and history � it�s a passion.) When�s the next event?

(AM1:) A couple of weeks from today. It�ll be the Bonnet Brigade. (That�s not what it�s called, but it�s about bonnets, which of course, requires the army�s presence. Surely you know how bonnets make all the men crazy. Well, of course you know that.)

(CI:) Great, I�ll be there.

(AM1:) (Holding out his hand.) Hey, my name is ArmyMan1. What�s yours?

(CI:) (Shaking his hand.) I�m Cruel-Irony.

(AM2:) (Holding out his hand.) I�m ArmyMan2. Nice to meet you.

(CI:) (Shaking his hand.) Nice to meet the both of you. I hope I�ll see you soon. (At that bonnet thing.)

(AM2:) Good Day Miss.

(AM1:) Good Day.

(CI:) Good Day.

Where the hell is my bonnet? A lady should be proper and all when gardening right? I mean, I was wearing jeans and I had gardening dirt under my fingernails. Please, it�s, apparently, Women�s History Month, you�d think I�d clean up well.

You�d be wrong, but you�d think that.

However, they were both proper gentlemen. I do have to say that. You know, at that particular moment. You can never tell with those living history type folks.

Of course, I�d be one of those folks if I had a little bit more time. And, yeah, we did talk about that. It�s something I�ve always wanted to do. Scoff all you want but I�ve worn a bonnet before in my life (�70s fashion � don�t ask), and I could do it again. Plus, I LOVE Little House On The Prairie.

I haven�t signed up yet, but you should know about history and I. Yup. Same bed. You pick your bedfellows and I�ll pick mine.

It�s ironic that two army men from the 1800s had to tell me it was Women�s History Day/Month. It�s even more ironic that that commemoration itself isn�t even historical.

But, hey, it was a good day. That�s cool.


Today, I rocked. Really.

Knocked out five (pause) FIVE loads of laundry without any interference whatsoever. And, I have two quarters left. I planned and executed a �laundry marathon� and it worked. Color me silly.

And, that was actually not that big of deal compared to everything else I did around the house. Really.

I unpacked five more boxes, got rid of the clutter (junk mail, misplaced items, recyclables), and, um, I found more books that have no place to go. I�d shelve them but I�m out of shelf space. Oh, and I polished and vacuumed and all that kinda stuff.

Then, I did the prep work for cooking tomorrow. It�ll be crockpot cooking, of course. But, I�m kinda making the recipe up. I�m substituting tri-tip for corned-beef. Who knew there where so many folks around here that�d get all Irish mid-month?

I counted on an after-holiday sale, that didn�t happen so, um, new recipe tomorrow. You just never know until you try. It�s all cool. So far anyway. I�ll see how cool that all is after I cook it.

It could be history, but [heh] I love me some history.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003