| 2004-09-23

Neurotic Feet

As far as feet go, I�ve been pretty fortunate. I have little, albeit wide, feet. I wear a girl�s size 4 or a ladies size 5 shoes, depending the particular shoe. It�s not uncommon for people to tell me my feet are cute� even by feet haters (you know who you are). I consider myself lucky because feet are not normally a person�s most attractive feature. Excepting that whole foot fetish thing which I�m just going to pretend doesn�t exist.

So my feet are fine. Now, I don�t love shoes like most women but I do have a fondness for them. However, I hate wearing them. Really. I do. It�s purely a matter of practicality for me and if I can avoid wearing them, I do. I�m not particularly fond of wearing clothes either, but again, it�s a matter of practicality and� well, you know.

The fibro has complicated matters some. Due to muscle spasms and other issues, I have trouble walking sometimes. Because of that, I pretty much have to wear practical shoes that provide a lot of balance and safety. I�ve been pretty lucky in finding practical but cute shoes, but that doesn�t happen in haste.

When I do find a pair that works for me, I wear them until they literally fall off my feet. I�m not too keen on breaking shoes in nor do I really care for shoe shopping. For example, last summer I found a really cute and practical pair of sandals. They were perfect.

Until a couple of weeks ago. When they fell apart.

I was at work and very, very busy. Fortunately, it was early and no one else was in the office. I kind of panicked because, um, my shoe broke, I was at work and I had no other pair of summer shoes. I could walk around the office without shoes, but not so much outside or at MyOtherWorkPlace. (Walking around barefoot at MyOtherWorkPlace is a comical thought but, um, no � absolutely not.)

So, I took my sandal over to the heavy duty stapler and stapled it back together. What can I say? Desperate times call for desperate measures.

And, I wore them for another week.

Finally, I had to replace them. Not having the time or energy to go shoe shopping, I picked up a pair of flip-flops and sandals at a �convenience� store while running errands.

Yeah. Just for the record, I never wear flip-flops because I can�t stand anything between my toes.

The next day, I wore flip-flops to work. (It was casual dress week.) By the end of the day, I had lacerations between my toes. The next day, I wore my new sandals. That resulted in several blisters on the tops of my feet. Finally, on the third day, I had to switch over to winter shoes because we had some freaky, flash-flood, seriously cold weather. That resulted in huge blisters on the bottom of my feet.

On the fourth day, I had to stay home from work because my feet were tore up. How pathetic is that? When I called in, NewBoss asked if I was sick and I told him no, that I just couldn�t put on any shoes and I could barely walk.

I�m not seeing any cute little high heels in my future. I see slippers though.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003