9:13 p.m. | 2004-11-24

We Are The Champions.

As I mentioned previously, we�re participating in a canned food drive at work. Our self-appointed team captain is my colleague Fargo who is very driven to win. Last week, we lost to The Enemy (another department) by a handful of cans. Notwithstanding the fact that this week was a short work week, we were determined to beat them. This passion, if you will, was continuously fueled by Fargo�s rather interesting desire to WIN. Apparently, he�s quite competitive.

As for myself, I cleaned out my �pantry� (I�m using that word liberally � my food storage area is about as big as a breadbox. Seriously.), bought some canned goods that were on sale when I was out running errands and contributed money to weekly Fargo�s shopping mission. Others pitched in just as feverously.

Of course, we sent our spy into Enemy territory to scope out their donation bin. In a moment of group panic this afternoon, we started grilling The Spy. It went something like this.

(Spy:) Their bin is overflowing.

(NewColleague:) So is ours. By how much is it overflowing?

(Fargo:) How high is it?

(CI:) Do they have stuff on the floor?

(UA:) If they do, how many things are on the floor?

(T-Bar:) Does it look like they have more things than us?

(Spy:) Uh� it�s OVERFLOWING. I don�t know by how much.

(NewBoss:) Spy, you have to go back and get us some answers.

(Spy:) I can�t do that; it�d be obvious.

(NewBoss:) Not if you did it right. Just go over there, lean against the wall, pretend like you�re talking to someone really important on your cell phone and mentally count everything you can see.

(Spy:) I can�t go back over there. Look, it�s gonna be close.

(NewBoss:) Okay. Let me put it this way. If you were a betting person, who do you think would win?

(Spy:) The Enemy.

That, of course, threw us into a panic. We struggled to decide whether or not we should run out and get some more canned food goods. Alas, we were too late. They were already counting.

And�

We beat The Enemy. By ONE can. ONE can!

Needless to say, we were ecstatic. Ridiculously ecstatic. I don�t even think the hungry people, to whom this food is going, are going to be ecstatic. The local shelters might be though as Fargo�s enthusiasm compelled us to donate more than three times the amount of items we contributed last week. In a three-day work period with more than half our staff absent.

We have seriously stepped up our game. If we continue at this rate, we�ll soon be on the receiving end of our giving.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003