10:49 p.m. | 2004-11-29

What Happened To Flower Power?

When I went to work this morning, I noticed something on the porch. With the exception of my bird of paradise plant, all my personal plants are, um, gone. I�m not including all the plants I�ve bought and donated to TheHotel. I�m talking about plants I�ve had for many, many years that were germinated from the plants stemming (heh) back to my great-great-grandparents.

A bit disconcerting.

Once again, we have a new HotelManager so I wasn�t sure what happened. Actually, I still don�t know. Hopefully, I�ll find out soon. And, hopefully, I�ll get my plants back. I mean, I can deal if I don�t, but it�s rather startling when your own personal property just disappears.


Okay. So the canned food drive. Yeah. NewBoss is back after several weeks away. And, he�s seriously stepped up our game. Last week, I donated about 25 cans from my own pantry, bought $10 worth of canned items and donated $5 to the shopping spree.

Frankly, both my pantry and my wallet are suffering.

Yet, I still have the donating spirit. In fact, I�ll be taking time off tomorrow in order to shop around for the best buys. Since my pantry is empty and all. Plus I�ll donate money to the weekly shopping trip.

I WILL feed the hungry. And, I�m quite sure I�ll manage to feed myself at the same time. I am committed.

So are some other folks. Folks who work near us that NewBoss invited to share cake and ice cream we bought for T-Bar�s birthday. NewBoss seriously stepped up their game too. Notwithstanding the fact that he�s not the boss of them.

Did I ever mention that NewBoss� real talent is sales? It is. He challenged them and then said that we�d double whatever they produce. That�s a tall order and we have several weeks to go.

At this rate, I will certainly end up on the receiving end of our giving. Or, more likely, I�ll just be a little hungrier.

No matter, it�s for a good cause and my budget could stand some adjusting.


Speaking of my budget, it�s really annoying when I�m working out some personal fiscal projection and I attempt to change the TV channel with my calculator. Not only do I fail to change the channel, I often erase some complicated mathematical equation that I spent a lot of time developing.

It does keep me humble of course. And, it tends to keep me in tune with math since I have to write all down again. Not so much with the channel changing though.


This week is full up with stuff. Random things. Including the Christmas party. I�ll be flying solo for that since only �spouses� are allowed to accompany a person. I did, of course, call about that and there are no exceptions.

We don�t have such a rule at Christmas in July, but well, we have Christmas in July. That speaks for itself I think.

Oh, and I might fire a gun this week. The operative word there is �might�. Just for the record.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003