| 2004-12-26

This Just Might Be The Best Week Ever.

Merry Christmas. Happy Holidays. Or, well, I just hope things went well for you. Whatever the situation.

I did do the �pseudo� Christmas this year. If you�re a regular reader you know that my family celebrates Christmas in July. But, I went to YoungerSister�s home on Christmas Day this year. Normally, I spend the holidays alone � happily � so several times, I forgot what we were actually celebrating. Obviously, I�ve embraced Christmas in July with vigor. Or senility is sitting on my front porch.

As usual, LittleNephew offered comedic relief. This is that.

(CI:) Can I sit by you for dinner?

(LN:) NO! I want Grandmother (MyMother) to sit by me!

(CI:) Uh� okay. I�ll sit over here by your other grandma (YS�s MIL).

(YSHusband:) Hey, don�t take it personally. Last week? Yeah, he told me that I was �boring�.

Of course, LN was in hyper mode since he�d received all kinds of presents. He wanted all of us to play with him every second. In fact, at some point when his father was sneaking a nap, LN woke him up to ask him to play a game. His father declined and LN said: �Do you WANT me to just leave you here all ALONE?�

I don�t think I need to tell you the answer to that question.


I have this week off, which is great, yet I�m still on a social circuit. This circuit is more to my liking than it has been recently.

First Up? Dinner at T-Bar and Mrs-T�s place tomorrow. I�ve never mentioned Mrs-T (MT) before, but she�s very cool. She threw a dinner invitation my way during one of the several parties we�ve all attended this month. And, it was an invitation I couldn�t turn down. Here�s that.

(MT:) Hey CI, you need to come over to our house for dinner.

(CI:) Absolutely.

(MT:) I can�t cook� but we have a barbeque.

(CI:) Seriously? See, I don�t have a barbeque and no way to barbeque� Oh, hotdogs. I love barbequed hotdogs.

(MT:) We can do that. Does T-Bar have your home phone number?

(CI:) Uh, no.

(MT:) Give that to him. Dinner next week?

(CI:) Sure.

When I gave T-Bar my home phone, he asked if I truly wanted hotdogs. I reassured him that I really do. He threw tri-tip in the mix and I okay�d that. As long as there are hotdogs too.

It really doesn�t take much to please me. Obviously. But, I have to say, I really admire MT�s dinner invitation. No one�s ever invited over saying: �you must come over for dinner. I can�t cook.�

I find that classy.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003