2:24 p.m. | 2004-12-28

Finally, Someone Believed Me.

I went to T-Bar and Mrs-T�s house for dinner last night and had a blast. I also had a barbequed hot dog because they took me at my word. See, every time someone invites me to a barbeque, they ask me what I want. And, I tell them. I want hot dogs. Yet no one believes that I really want hot dogs so they barbeque steaks, tri-tip, chicken, fish and whatnot. But, not this time. They actually barbequed hot dogs. Good dogs even. I was thrilled.

I also had the pleasure of meeting their child (Little T) and their new puppy (Fido). Little T is great. Well mannered, sweet, funny and able to entertain himself with no problem at all. And, he�s very cute. So is Fido. Much to his parents� dismay, Fido was so excited to meet me that he promptly peed on my shoe. They apologized profusely but I�m not really put out by things like that. Puppies get excited and things like that happen. It was easily cleaned up. No harm, no foul.


Mrs.-T and I had an interesting conversation. Here�s some of that.

(MT:) You know, I was a tomboy growing up and I really don�t like women too much. I always had guy friends instead. I�ve never been a �girlie girl�. (Editor�s note: By girlie girl, I mean backstabbing, cat-fighting type of women. The kind that go on The Bachelor basically.)

(CI:) Yeah, me neither. However, I�ve always had many girlfriends. I don�t know what it is but I�ve always been able to become friends with other non-girlie-girl women. Even though many of them have told me that they don�t really like women and don�t have any female friends. I don�t know why I have so much luck in finding them � it�s just always been easy for me.

(MT:) That�s because you�re just yourself.

(CI:) Well, um, I don�t really know how to be anyone else.

Later, T-Bar told me that I was the first woman to ever be invited over (except for family and whatnot). I found that touching. Especially since I really like Mrs-T.


We all had a great time visiting � and eating � and I was there for a long time. I�m glad that I went. And, to be honest, normally I would�ve turned down the invite because they live outside of my normal territorial range, they live in the suburbs (no offense to anyone who lives in the �burbs, but they really creep me out), and I had to drive at night in the rain.

I know those things aren�t a big deal for a lot of people but they can be challenging for me. In fact, since I moved Downtown, I only drive my car twice a week, rack up probably less than 20 miles and rarely drive on the freeway. Last night, I had to drive about 20 miles each way on the freeway at night in the rain. Just for the record, people in MyTown drive like maniacs when it rains. And, I had to go to the suburbs.

Anyway, we all had a great time and I got a barbequed hot dog to boot.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003