11:10 p.m. | 2005-03-03

The Sky Is Falling.

My livingroom ceiling light fixture fell down tonight. Fortunately, I, once again, wasn�t walking under it or within its falling space. Since it�s a heavy fixture and I have very high ceilings, it never falls straight down. Thank goodness for physics. Albeit, I wasn�t outside the potential falling radius.

And yes, it has fallen down before. Once. I thought it was a fluke. Especially since it�s affixed to the ceiling with a six-inch bolt. Obviously, my thinking was a little off. Much like my light fixture. Fortunately, the light is still shining. It�s just a little bright right now. Diffusion makes a lot of difference. You know?

I�m going to have to call TheManager to get this fixed which I probably won�t do right away because I�m busy. In fact, I was working when it happened. Which made it all the more surprising because I was very focused on what I was doing.

It startled me. And, of course, reminded me about how random life is. Odd things just happen unexpectedly. That�s not a reason to live in fear though. But it is a reason to be respectful of possibilities. Good and bad.

On a positive note, I had thought one of the bulbs had burned out because it has been dim in my livingroom for a while. Yeah, not the case. The bulbs are all shining brightly. The lack of light was either due to my imagination or well, winter.

It�s not even Spring yet, but yeah, much brighter already. Outside and inside.


On a negative note, Mr. Domestic Violence (since he doesn�t really deserve any kind of �mister� respect, lets call him DVA � you figure out what �A� stands for) seems to be feeling quite confident. Now that he�s back in TheHotel, he seems focused on intimidating me. Mostly, I think, because I�m a female neighbor who�s close (proximity wise) and I appear, to him, to be easily intimidated (read: not physically imposing). And, he�s so very, very wrong about that.

Not about the physically imposing thing, just that I�m not easily intimidated. I�ve made that somewhat clear, which is why I think he�s stepped up his game. Now, he�s posing. Ha.

In fact, I�ve been meaning to make some phone calls, do some checking and call in some chits (favors). It�s time to do just that. He has no idea what�s in my arsenal, so to speak. It�s impressive actually, but doesn�t include guns. Or any weapons for that matter.

Yeah, need to get that ball rolling. Chances are, I�ll deal with that before I get my light fixture back up. Okay, that�s a given.


In other news, uh, I�m working a lot. And, I still have more to do tonight, so I gotta go. Hopefully, I�ll be back soon.

Catcha on the flipside.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003