10:27 p.m. | 2005-05-30

There�s Nothing To Fear But Fear Itself.

One of my worst fears was realized this weekend. And yes, of course it was car-related. Ironically, I fear car-related crap more than horrible natural disasters. Or even unnatural disasters.

When my life � or someone else�s life � is on the line? Not a big deal.

Flat tire? That�s HUGE. In my silly little world.

But, I worked through it � as I always do � and was actually thankful later. Oh irony� it�s so bittersweet.

What I found is that what I fear most is my ability to handle myself in any given situation. Yet, I haven�t really ever faltered in dealing with whatever has been thrown my way.

And, quite frankly, a lot of really horrible stuff has been thrown my way over the years. So much so that I consider that type of thing to be normal. Hence, the normal everyday stuff throws me for a loop.


Forget all that though because everyone has a different challenge. It really doesn�t matter what that obstacle � or fear � is, it�s how you handle it. That�s where trust and belief in yourself come into play. You have to trust and believe in yourself enough to handle whatever situation you fear.

At least, that�s what I think.


Because I believed in myself, I got a free tow, an inexpensive fix and peace of mind about that particular car issue. Lets hope the next car-related thing goes that well since Christmas in July [in June this year] is on Saturday and I�ll have to travel.

And yes, my Christmas shopping is already done.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003