10:04 p.m. | 2005-11-03

Colliding Worlds.

I woke up this morning thinking that it�d been too long since I�ve seen BestestGirlfriend so I invited her to lunch via email. About an hour later, she called me. This is that.

(CI:) Good Morning, MyWorkPlace. This is CI.

(BG:) Hey, I got your email. But, my inbox is full and it�s easier just to call you to respond.

(CI:) Ha! I know. (I don�t know if this is a problem for any of you, but it is for us. It�s not unusual for me to spend two hours deleting emails in order to have enough space to send a one-word response. That�s not due to lack of space but rather due to a really short email-related leash.)

(BG:) I can�t do lunch. However, I was supposed to go out with my friends tonight after work and they all canceled. You want to meet after work?

(CI:) Sure. Sounds great.

(BG:) Okay. Meet me here after work.

(CI:) Done deal. See you then.


I was excited to see BG since it�s been a while. If you�re a regular reader, you know that I don�t spend nearly enough time with BG. So, I was all cool with that.

Later on, I was sitting in my office talking to co-worker (CW), who�s also a friend of mine, when I received a call. This is what happened.

(CI:) Excuse me, I need to take this call; it�s BG.

(CW:) Of course.

(CI:) What�s up Girlie?

(BG:) Remember how I told you that all my friends flaked on our plans tonight?

(CI:) Sure.

(BG:) Well, they all �unflaked� this afternoon. So, we�re all going out tonight. I want you to come too, but I wanted to call and tell you that my friends are going to be there.

(CI:) What? I get to meet the friends?

(BG:) Yes. I�m gonna let two of my worlds collide tonight.

(CI:) Colliding worlds? Excellent. I�ll be there. See you then.

After I hung up, I mentioned to CW that I�d be meeting BG and several of her girlfriends after work. Ha! Foreshadowing.

When I walked into the place, I found BG sitting amongst four guys. Girlfriends... what was I thinking?


It was a grand night though. Her friends? Awesome, of course. I met an auditor, boxer, nurse, comedian and a couple of lawyers. (Two of the guys� girlfriends joined us later.) Great fun, I must say.

One of the best things? Whilst talking about fantasy baseball, we decided that fantasy karaoke should be a sport.

I call dibs on Montykins, Jen and Jessie (counts as one), Pablo and Bozoette. As my offense. For defense, I call dibs on Jake, Science Girl, Pratt and Meg. Well, wait... I call dibs on all Jcon attendees, I think. Since this is a new concept, I�m guessing I can make such a bold move.

Fantasy karaoke? Brilliant idea.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003