10:09 p.m. | 2005-12-06

My First Kiss.

I was eight. My favorite colors to wear were pink and yellow. I don�t know how big I was at the time but as my nickname was "Shrimp" and I wore size four or five, I suppose I was a little kid. Scrawny too. That was the year I learned how to draw a horse. I was excited about that even though my depiction of a horse was often interpreted as a dog, a cow or a goat.

I liked the monkey bars too. Climbing was fun as was hanging upside down or swinging from bar to bar just like monkeys do. I figured that�s why they�re called monkey bars. Swing and hang sometimes turn upside down. Always wear shorts under your skirt though. Monkeys didn�t do that. You know, wear shorts or skirts. Unless they were at the circus. Then you never knew what they might wear but they didn�t go on the monkey bars even at the circus. Or ever, really. But they did hang and swing.

Which I did a lot. Especially with DearestSister. She liked when the boys came around but I never did. They were such a hassle. Always teasing and trying to make you fall and daring you to do stupid stuff that no one would ever do because duh, that�s stupid. They never went on the monkey bars anyway so what�d they know? Stupid boys.

I beat boys at tether ball and that always made them mad. We�d hit the ball back and forth a lot and then I�d hit it over their head once or twice, they�d get mad and hit it really hard and it would fly way over my head and wrap around the bar repeatedly. I�d wait until it started swinging low again and give it one more smack. Then it�d hit upside them upside the head. I guess they were use to playing other boys their size instead of short, scrawny girls. They didn�t know much about girls. Or gravity for that matter. I knew all about girls because I had sisters, my grandpa taught me about physics and my parents taught me patience. What goes around comes around. Stupid boys.

One day right in the middle of playing four-square, the recess bell rang. It was time to go in. I was right in the middle of securing my first-place lead and was a little slow to go in. That�s when I noticed that this horrible boy RJ and his sidekick Rocky were blocking my way into the school. I turned and ran toward the other end of the building but they kept after me.

In a frantic moment, I climbed to the top of the tallest slide thinking I was safe. I demanded to know what they wanted. To my horror, RJ said he wanted to kiss me. Said if I kissed him, they�d stop chasing me.

Kiss him? YUCK!!

RJ was at the bottom of the steps and Rocky was at the bottom of the slide. I couldn�t climb down; I couldn�t slide down. Desperate, I threw myself over the side of the slide and slid down one of the support poles ready to run.

They met me in the middle. Rocky stopped me and RJ planted a sloppy kiss on my cheek. And all the chasing and running and thinking and fear was suddenly over. They went back to class. I took the long way around the building trying not to get sick over the fact that stupid RJ kissed me and his stupider, stupid friend Rocky touched my arm.

Boys! The stupidest, stupid people of the whole world!

I was never so glad to move to another state than I was that year. I was crestfallen when I learned that the boys in the new state were just as stupid. That�s a whole different story though.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003