10:34 p.m. | 2006-02-18

I�m Throwing Down My Dance Card.

I�ve been on a dating hiatus. Mostly because I�m not a dating game victor. That should be clear from the fact that I�m still single. However, I have to say that I�m happy I�m still single. With one exception, I�d be horrified if I had married anyone I previously dated.

Yes, I am a dating disaster. Or well, maybe I was.

During this most recent hiatus, I decided to focus on myself. At some point, it became very evident that I was the common denominator in all my failed relationships. All arrows pointed at me. That�s hard to ignore. Denial only goes so far.

That�s what I�ve been doing. Focusing on myself and the inherent problems within. Much like the Orkin man, I�ve been discovering and eradicating all the pests. So to speak. And, I think I�m ready to date once again.

I imagine that there will be some false starts, but I�m okay with that. On the other hand, in order to date once again, I have to find some willing participants. That part? Much harder.

I�m older now so I�m not dipping into the same pool of partners that I was swimming in when I was in my twenties. If you�re in your twenties, please realize how large that pool is. However, I�m not dismayed. Somewhere there�s a guy for me. Of that I�m sure.

I�m less sure that I�m ready for all that. I have been resolving some of my own problems, yet I�m still a little gun shy.

What I do know? I like flirting and I do that well. It�s fun. I guess I hope to flirt with the right guy at some point. Trust me, I�m in no hurry. I�m just thinking about it. I�m putting myself out there more and I�m receptive. Or, at least I try to be.

Maybe it�ll happen, maybe it won�t. I�m okay either way. Yet, I really would like to have someone in my life. Someone to share things with, someone to give me a great big hug, someone to pat me on the head and reassure me that everything is A-Okay. It�s not necessary, but it�d be real nice.

As such, I throw down my dance card. Only time will tell if someone signs it.

Perhaps, I shouldn't throw it.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003